Thursday, April 22, 2010

Chucky Mullins Courage Award

“I may give out, but I’ll never give up.” This was Roy Lee “Chucky” Mullins philosophy that he lived by day in and day out, and it’s the motto that every Rebel Football player upholds to this day. Before running out onto the field for every home football game, each individual player touches the “Never Quit” Chucky Mullins head statue to remind them of this motto.

Although he is gone, Chucky’s dedication and heart are remembered throughout the Ole Miss family. Since 1990, the Phi Beta Sigma fraternity at Ole Miss present an award at the Chucky Mullins Courage Award Banquet every spring. The money raised from the banquet is given to a specific fund that was created to help Ole Miss Students who are involved in serious accidents.

The winning player was given the honor of wearing Chucky’s No. 38 jersey his senior season, up until 2006 when his jersey was officially retired. Now, Chucky’s and Archie Manning’s No. 18 are the only retired numbered in Rebel Football history.Finalists for the award this year included tackle Jerrell Powe, linebacker Allen Walker, safety Johnny Brown, linebacker Jonathan Cornell, tackle Ted Laurent, and our winner, defensive end Kentrell Lockett.

No comments:

Post a Comment