Monday, April 30, 2012

Jason Jones Wins 2012 Chucky Mullins Courage Award

Chucky Mullins played defensive back for the Rebels from 1988 to October, 1989, when he suffered a career ending hit during the 1989 Homecoming game against Vanderbilt, leaving Mullins paralyzed from the waist down. Each spring a Courage Award is given to a Junior defensive player who demonstrates discipline and character, in which this year’s winner will have the honor of wearing Mullins’ #38 for next season. Archie Manning’s #18 is the only other number in Rebels’ football history to have been retired, in which in years past the award winner would wear a 38 patch on his jersey.
Jason Jones is this year’s winner and is the 23rd recipient of The Chucky Mullins’ Courage Award, joining a list of fellow Rebels including Patrick Willis, Kentrell Lockett,  and D.T. Shackleford.

No comments:

Post a Comment