Sunday, May 1, 2016

University of Mississippi Student Disability Services Presents 7th Annual Access Awards to Honor Students and Faculty

Michael Howland (left), Stacey Reycraft
(center), and Violeta Davydenko (right)
On April 26th, Student Disability Services on Ole Miss's campus gave the 7th annual Access Awards honoring students and faculty that have gone above and beyond to help students with disabilities. The recipients of the award were recognized for their care and willingness to help those who may have a disability.

The three recipients included Violeta Davydenko (Faculty Recipient), Michael Howland (Staff), and Amy Kathleen Wallace Walker (Student), each recognized for excellence in their work in each respective category. The awards were presented by Stacey Reycraft, Director of Student Disability Services, who remarked that she was excited to have more participation this year than ever before in the award's history.

Michael Howland, who received the Staff Access Award, was recognized for his work with the newly established Mission 22 Group benefitting student veterans adjusting to college life. Violeta Davydenko was recognized for her selfless efforts to make sure that each of her students achieved their full potential with their studies, regardless of any disability. Violeta was nominated by one of her students who said that she was always willing to meet with any student after class and help them in anyway she could.

No comments:

Post a Comment